Or Nue – well it’s all new to me!

I decided that I needed a totally ‘free from school’ weekend; one where I only had to think of myself. Maybe a little selfish, but sometimes you need to be a tad self indulgent! With that in mind I booked myself on a class at the RSN, Hampton Court, to try my hand at ‘Or Nue’ embroidery (sorry but I can’t get the accent over the e – something else I need to learn!) .

‘Or Nue’ embroidery involves couching a pair of metal threads on to the surface of a piece of background material, in horizontal lines. The background metal threads are couched with a thread of a similar colour and then, in certain areas, coloured threads are used to create a picture.

Our tutor for the day was Amanda Ewing and she had created a mushroom design for us all to follow. It looked small enough to complete and her instructions were easy to follow – but you know what they say, when something looks and sounds easy – it will inevitably take a lot longer to master than you think!

dsc_0064-2

Design by Amanda Ewing.

 

So how did I do? Well needless to say, I didn’t complete the sampler. In fact I barely got started – the day just whizzed past! The process was very time consuming but I will endeavour to complete it at home over the next few weeks. But it was a lovely experience – Hampton Court was bathed in sunshine and there was also a visit to the RSN shop – always lots to temp you!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About wybrow1966

My name is Deborah, and my earliest recollection of being creative is learning how to smock at primary school. We had a wonderful, white-haired lady who came in once a week to teach the 'girls' how to sew. I am not sure what the boys got up to during this time - but I never once felt as though I was missing out on anything. Now, as a primary teacher, I often give up evenings to teach enthusiastic children how to embroider. I am now just about to embarked into the world of blogging. Who knows if anyone will be interested, or if I can even keep it up. But here goes....
This entry was posted in Current projects., goldwork and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

