Stitching pretty….

Half term has meant that I have a little time to get myself ready for day 4 at the RSN next Saturday – so in amongst the report writing (and thinking how to say, tactfully, that some ones child is somewhat challenging in class), I have found a few spare hours to complete some of the homework I was set. Honestly, I don’t know how people manage to complete each piece of work during the 2 week intensive courses at Hampton Court – I must be on week number 3 already and I know I still have some unpicking to do!

So I set up my trestles by the bedroom window and got started – the view isn’t in quite the same league as the one at the palace – but it is quite a light place to stitch and the Cornus is looking lovely at the moment!DSC_0008

My main focus has been on finishing all the chain stitching on the right hand branch. I then started on the raised stem stitch vines around the branch. First I put in some evenly spaced bars in a ladder formation and then stem stitched into them. It produces a nice raised stitch (as the name implies) and you can add shading detail by varying the colours of wool that you use.

I have to say that I am quite glad that I have finished this area of the design – as the chain stitch really is hard on the eyes! I am still a bit worried that the whole design looks a little flat and uninteresting – but am sure I will get lots of feedback on Saturday. I only hope that I don’t have to unpick too much as it can be a little demoralising! All I need to do now is outline the mistletoe leaves in stem stitch.

About wybrow1966

My name is Deborah, and my earliest recollection of being creative is learning how to smock at primary school. We had a wonderful, white-haired lady who came in once a week to teach the 'girls' how to sew. I am not sure what the boys got up to during this time - but I never once felt as though I was missing out on anything. Now, as a primary teacher, I often give up evenings to teach enthusiastic children how to embroider. I am now just about to embarked into the world of blogging. Who knows if anyone will be interested, or if I can even keep it up. But here goes....
This entry was posted in Current projects., RSN Certificate and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Stitching pretty….

  1. Jen says:

    I love the 3D effect of the vine around the branch! Your view from the window is gorgeous and I’m quite jealous. I live in an apartment building surrounded by more apartment buildings, with barely a touch of greenery in sight 😦

  2. wybrow1966 says:

    Thanks Jen, glad the vine looks a little 3d as I stabbed my fingers so much in the process. I love my garden, although it looks a little like a jungle at the moment. Where do you live? I don’t think you have said before.

Leave a Reply

