Bevy of beauties…

I am not really a big fan of jewellery – just can’t be bothered. But the one thing I do wear daily is a brooch and over the years I have built up quite a collection. I tend to go for anything handmade – be it embroidered, crochet, felted or enameled. Just this week one of the little boys in my class made me a Lego, cross shaped brooch with he stuck to my top with sticky tape! It didn’t last more than a day but it certainly was a talking point! My love of brooches is one of the reasons I was drawn to the millefiore kits produced by Jenny Adin-Christie. I have been working on a small heart-shaped brooch – which I finally finished this week! Love it – here are a few pictures of the finished brooch. It has to be said that the back is not nearly as neat as the front!

When ever I sew I like to make something useful, with a function. Now I need to find something new to make. Does any one have any ideas? These kits have given me a little confidence when working with metal threads, so maybe I could come up with my own design. This little brooch looks lovely grouped together with other metal work brooches.

About wybrow1966

My name is Deborah, and my earliest recollection of being creative is learning how to smock at primary school. We had a wonderful, white-haired lady who came in once a week to teach the 'girls' how to sew. I am not sure what the boys got up to during this time - but I never once felt as though I was missing out on anything. Now, as a primary teacher, I often give up evenings to teach enthusiastic children how to embroider. I am now just about to embarked into the world of blogging. Who knows if anyone will be interested, or if I can even keep it up. But here goes....
This entry was posted in Current projects., goldwork and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Bevy of beauties…

  1. Catherine says:

    Beautiful! What a lovely job you have done of finishing the brooch off. I’m very tempted to get one myself!

    • wybrow1966 says:

      Thanks Catherine, I think I need to start another as it is only after you have finished a project that you know the problems that you may encounter and how to get around them!

  2. that is beautiful! I’ve had my eye on these kits!

    • wybrow1966 says:

      I can thoroughly recommend them. They were my first introduction into metal work and I am really please with the results. Jenny is a lovely lady who answered all my questions by e-mail. The instructions are very comprehensive and easy to follow.

Leave a Reply

