Back to Jack Crewel…

Back to the Jacobean crewel work and this weekend I have been trying to decide how I should fill the lattice work hillock at the bottom of my design. First I worked up a lattice grid, trying to ensure that squares were equal in size (not as easy as it would first appear). I thought that Battlement stitch would be a good place to start. This involves putting down successive layers of different colours. A holding stitch is then placed over every intersection of the uppermost layers. Not sure about this one, maybe I need to change the combination of colours.

The next filling used lazy daisy stitch (also known as detached chain stitch) to form a simple flower motif and intersecting squares where then filled with straight stitches worked on the diagonal of each square (going corner to corner). I am liking this combo more.

DSC_0066

The final filling that I tried was based on a piece of work that I had seen, by Tracey Anne Franklin – but I am not sure that I really did it justice. This is my favourite filling and I think the colours work well together too! Every other square is block filled using two different colours – a cross stitch is then added to the squares in-between and the crosses were in turn held with a second cross in a contrasting colour. Does this make sense? If not, I hope the pictures below help….

I did try bullion stitch and thought that I could use these to fill the cross stitch squares – but after 4 bullion stitches, a lot of frayed wool – I am not so sure!

DSC_0074

Day 6 of my certificate course is coming up this week, so hopefully one of the tutors can help with my decision – or suggest an alternative. Does anyone have any other suggestions?

About wybrow1966

My name is Deborah, and my earliest recollection of being creative is learning how to smock at primary school. We had a wonderful, white-haired lady who came in once a week to teach the 'girls' how to sew. I am not sure what the boys got up to during this time - but I never once felt as though I was missing out on anything. Now, as a primary teacher, I often give up evenings to teach enthusiastic children how to embroider. I am now just about to embarked into the world of blogging. Who knows if anyone will be interested, or if I can even keep it up. But here goes....
This entry was posted in Current projects., RSN Certificate and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Back to Jack Crewel…

  1. Catherine says:

    There are so many options are there! I love the alternating filled and cross variations, but it will depend on your design and how heavy or light you need to make it weight wise. Such a fun decision!

    • wybrow1966 says:

      Hmm, I tend to sew more and smaller stitches rather than less, meaning my design is more closed with less open spaces. I just feel that something like the lazy daisy option will unbalance the whole picture.

  2. Dima says:

    Wow bullions are hard with cotton. I don’t know if I’d ever attempt it with wool 😮 Enjoy your class.

Leave a Reply

