Bird on a wire.

Let it rain, let it pour! Who cares when you can spend the day at Hampton Court stitching. Today is day one of a three day goldwork course with tutor, Helen Stevens. We are attempting to recreate her design ‘Bird on a Wire’. This is how it should look….DSC_0068

I chose this course because I wanted to learn how to do basket weave – which is the stitch used on the birds wing and broadplate goldwork using flat metal ribbon – as on the birds beak. It will also give me a chance to improve on my cutwork – perfect! So what do you get in the kit? Pretty much everything you need! The booklet is full of colour photographs showing each stage covered.

DSC_0069

Surprisingly there were only 4 people booked on this course but,  as the trains were as reliable as ever, two people did not make it in on day 1. This meant that we managed to get all the padding and string work done so tomorrow we can start on adding a little gold. Here is my progress so far – there are 3 layers of padding on each of the tiny leaves, the beak, body and wings.

Can’t wait to get back in tomorrow……

About wybrow1966

My name is Deborah, and my earliest recollection of being creative is learning how to smock at primary school. We had a wonderful, white-haired lady who came in once a week to teach the 'girls' how to sew. I am not sure what the boys got up to during this time - but I never once felt as though I was missing out on anything. Now, as a primary teacher, I often give up evenings to teach enthusiastic children how to embroider. I am now just about to embarked into the world of blogging. Who knows if anyone will be interested, or if I can even keep it up. But here goes....
This entry was posted in Current projects., goldwork and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Bird on a wire.

  1. Catherine says:

    What a gorgeous design! It’s sad it was such a small class, though it is always good from a students perspective.

    • wybrow1966 says:

      Very good from a student point of view – but if it prevents the course from running in the future, then yes, it is unfortunate. I think that the cost of a 3 day course can be quite prohibitive.

  2. Dima says:

    I think it was great the class was small. You get more one on one with the teacher. Lucky they didn’t cancel it, anywhere else and they would have cancelled the class.

Leave a Reply

