Goldwork, day 2

Still only two students again today, but we both seem to stitch at the same pace which meant that Helen could demonstrate to us both at the same time and keep a close eye on our progress. So after a quick look at the views from the window it was back to finishing off the hard string padding along the birds wing.

Once this was completed the next stage was to apply a kid leather cap over the head of the bird – which took us up to tea-break (where does the time go?). After tea we concentrated on the broad plate gold ribbon beak – this was a new technique to me – but, after a shaky start, I began to find my feet and really enjoyed the process. The trickiest part was catching the ribbon at the tip of the beak and then casting off.

After lunch we made a start on couching Japanese thread over the body of the bird – by this time my eyes were starting to struggle and, looking at the pictures, I can see that my brickwork stitching could have been better. Helen gave us a demonstration of the basket weave stitch over the wing – but I think this will need to wait for day 3 to finish it off.

So that is my progress to date – it is really difficult all the techniques demonstrated into each day – so I have had to do a little homework each evening – but I hope it will be worth it and I have loved learning new techniques. Tomorrow will be a ‘cutwork’ day.

About wybrow1966

My name is Deborah, and my earliest recollection of being creative is learning how to smock at primary school. We had a wonderful, white-haired lady who came in once a week to teach the 'girls' how to sew. I am not sure what the boys got up to during this time - but I never once felt as though I was missing out on anything. Now, as a primary teacher, I often give up evenings to teach enthusiastic children how to embroider. I am now just about to embarked into the world of blogging. Who knows if anyone will be interested, or if I can even keep it up. But here goes....
This entry was posted in Current projects., goldwork and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Goldwork, day 2

  1. Dima says:

    I felt the same when I tried the broad plate. Really fin to stitch with but fiddly to end 🙂 This is a really nice piece, it gets you to try out many of the different goldwork techniques at once.

    • wybrow1966 says:

      Loved this course and chose it for exactly those reasons as I wanted to try out new techniques. I was a little worried at first as it was sold as an advanced course – but then I thought the worst thing that could happen was that I would not finish.

Leave a Reply

